Studio ThusThat


Studio ThusThat is a design, research and consultancy studio focussed on
material innovations. Led by Kevin Rouff and Paco Böckelmann and based in Amsterdam, the studio works between material science, industrial production, art and design. Combining backgrounds from Stanford University, University of Twente, Imperial College, and the Royal College of Art London, ThusThat uses an interdisciplinary approach to bring unusual materials into use. 

Their projects using wastes of the mining and metallurgy industries have received international acclaim and have been globally exhibited, with pieces in the permanent collections of the London Design MuseumDesign Museum Gent, and FRAC Dunkerque

Awards : 
Innovation by Design award, Fast Company, 2019 
Wallpaper* Magazine Design of the Year, 2021 
Dezeen’s “Emerging Studio of the Year” shortlist, 2021 
Dezeen’s “Sustainability” longlist, 2021 


Selected Exhibitions :
“ The Planetarian ”, Beijing, China, 2022, “Aquaelis”, Dutch Invertuals, Dutch Design Week, 2022 London Design Festival, Mint Gallery, 2022 Collectible Design Fair, Brussels, 2022 Design Festival, Gent, 2022 “ Craft Sustained ”, Lincolnshire, UK, 2022 London Design Week, Fels Gallery, 2021 “ Colors, etc.”, Lille Tripostale, France, 2021 “ Materia gris ”, CentroCentro Madrid, Spain, 2021 “Critical Zones”, ZKM Karlsruhe, Germany, 2020 Collaboration with Olafur Eliasson for “Sometimes the River is the Bridge”, Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo, Japan, 2020 “ Kleureyck ”, Design Museum Gent, Belgium, 2020 “ Design Transfigured/Waste Reimagined ”, Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art, USA 2020 “ Design Transfigured/Waste Reimagined ”, Georgetown USA, 2019 Veemgebouw, Dutch Design Week, Eindhoven, 2019 DesignFresh & MaterialDriven, London Design Festival, 2019 Slag Valorization Symposium, Mechelen, Belgium, 2019 Designing Perspectives, Biennale Arte, Venice, Italy, 2019 The Model Room, Anagra, Tokyo, Japan, 2019 LaSalle College of the Arts, Singapore, 2018 WIP Show, Royal College of Art, London, UK, 2017